Custom Concerns

13 Apr

“The custom concern for the people is
Build up monuments and steeples
To wear out our eyes
I get up just about noon
My head sends a message for me
to reach for my shoes and then walk
Gotta go to work, gotta go to work, gotta have a job
Goes through the parking lot fields
Didn’t see no signs that they would yield
And then thought, this’ll never end
This’ll never end, this’ll never stop
Message read on the bathroom wall
Said, “I don’t feel at all like I fall.”
And we’re losing all touch, losing all touch
Building ourselves a desert

-Modest Mouse

If you haven’t noticed from the last few posts, I have been majorly addicted to music lately. Specifically ones with epic lyrics that have been inspiration for my photographs. I was so happy to see that Joshua James had done a cover or this Modest Mouse song called “Custom Concern” cos lets face it..Modest Mouse doesn’t have the best vocals. They are one of those bands that you listen to just for the lyrics, and desperately hope that someone will come along with a better voice and cover it.

This is definitely one of my favorites of them..and I came upon it when I was looking up some videos of my newly favorite artist Joshua James. (I quoted his song in the “Crash This Train” post) Anywayssss…to me this song talks about society. How we are so worried about money, or how we “gotta go to work, gotta go to work, gotta have a job.” We are so worried impressing people with this money and our “monuments, and steeples.” As much as I love money, there are many things that are worth more than the mula and material items. We are “building ourselves a desert” as a society, and that’s not much to live on. (I know, I know. I do actually LIVE in a desert.) But I’m thinking more like the image above….everywhere. That’s not much sustainability there…we would need more than our 72 hour kits to survive. haha

I would love to hear your feedback, and what this song means to you. =)

One Response to “Custom Concerns”

  1. kellie April 14, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

    I am digging the one picture storytelling, set to lyrics or poetry.

    That is what I love to do…. Haha That is what I love sell!

    I want to make a Music video of story telling via photographs! And you know who’s, would be amazing!

    Diggin this post… in the desert, but living in the garden. Yes this is a wonderland when you seperate yourself from the worldly ways. However, to do this you must also understand that we are all in this together.

    I need to listen to that song.

Leave a Reply

